2009-10 Award Winners


Elliott completes clean sweep to take out Una Paisley award

Dandenong skipper Sarah Elliott has completed a clean sweep by taking out the Una Paisley award for the most consistent Premier Firsts player, at the 2010 VWCA Presentation Night held at Moonee Valley Racing Club on Friday evening.

Elliott had a brilliant season winning the Sharon Tredrea award, the Cathryn Fitzpatrick award, the WNCL Player of the Series, the Dandenong Club Champion, as well as being named a member of the VWCA Premier Firsts team of the Year.

Racing to 23 votes after just round four, and polling maximum votes in three out of the first four matches, Elliott was always going to be difficult to catch, and led the way throughout the entire count finishing six votes clear of 2nd placedElyse Villani from Brunswick Park.

She finished the regular season with 468 runs at an average of 117 with a high score of 137 not out. She scored three centuries and one half century in five innings with a strike rate of 107.1 and deservedly took out her first Una Paisley award.

In Premier Seconds, the Player of the Year award went to Brunswick Park's Julie Calvert who finished four votes clear of Briony Polkinghorne from Brown Hill. Calvert had a dominant season for Brunswick Park winning the competition batting and bowling averages scoring 441 runs and taking 15 wickets.

In other awards, Monash Uni Gryphon's Madeline Hince was named the most promising schoolgirl, taking out the Frank McDonald award. Geelong Cricket Club won the Home Ground Advantage Spirit of Cricket award whilst Riverside Cricket Club won their first Jill Crowther award for the best administered club. The June Cole award for the best first year Premier Firsts player went to Brighton District's Lauren Wood.

Altona North's Nimnade Dahanyake was the inaugural winner of Dorothy Porter Memorial Prize, awarded to the best spin bowler in the one day competitions.

In the Premier Firsts Team of the Year, Essendon Maribyrnong Park skipper Clea Smith was named Captain of the team for the second consecutive season.

Retiring club players Kris Benefield (Brunswick Park), Angela Houghton (Brunswick Park), Bev Millichip (EMP) and Melanie Jones (EMP) were recognised for the contribution to club cricket. 

Kris Benefield played 214 games for Brunswick Park and is the all time leading wicket taker at the club with 517 dismissals. Her best bowling was 8/9 in the 1992/93 Premier Firsts Grand Final and her highest score was 110 not out. Kris retires as a premiership Captain, after leading Brunswick Park to their first 3rd XI Premiership in 29 years this season which was also Kris' 10th Premiership with the club.

Angela Houghton played her first VWCA game in 1988/89 for East Box Hill Cricket Club and later joined Brunswick Park in 1997. Angela retires as captain of the Brunswick Park 2nd XI and after 105 games for the club. A highest score of 122 not out, Angela's highlights were taking 5 slips catches in an innings and captaining her club's 2nd XI.

Bev Millichip began her VWCA career with the Altona North Cricket Club in 1974/75. Bev's greatest personal achievement was making 167 not out and being involved in an opening batting partnership of 461. A highlight from Bev's junior career at Altona North was being captained and coached by Betty Butcher. In 2004 Bev joined EMP where she became a valuable contributor to the club on and off the field as well as Captain of the EMP 3rd XI this season. Bev retires with over 400 VWCA matches. 

Melanie Jones began her VWCA career in 1986 where she won the C Grade bowling average in her first season. Since that time Melanie has gone on to represent Victoria and Australia and joined Essendon Maribyrnong Park in 2004 as a player/coach where she has played a pivotal role in rebuilding the club. Melanie's VWCA highlights include being part of EMP's 2007/08 Premier Firsts Premiership as well as the club's Premier Seconds Premiership this season and also being out in the middle when Molly Strano hit her first 100 last year.

To download a full list of award winners and competition averages click here.