2008-09 Award Winners

2008/09 Award Winners

The 2008/09 VWCA Presentation Night took place on Friday 17th April at Moonee Valley Racing Club. Hosted by Peter Lazer, the event was attended by approximately 200 people.

The Una Paisley count for the Most Consistent Premier Firsts Player went down to the final rounds with Brunswick Park stalwart Catherine Morrow taking out her first Una Paisley with 23 votes, 5 votes ahead of team mate Renee Melton and EMP’s Melanie Jones. Morrow had one of her best seasons taking 44 wickets at an average of 9.67 and playing an integral role in Brunswick Park’s success. 

Retiring club players Jane Franklin (Dandenong), Linda Machin (Monash Uni Gryphons), Jodie Dean (Monash Uni Gryphons), Brooke McFarlane (Box Hill) and Natalie Challis (Box Hill) were recognised for their contribution to club cricket over the last two decades. Brown Hill Cricket Club, Director of Women’s Cricket Wendy Gray was given a standing ovation for her tireless work and commitment to women’s cricket in the Brown Hill area over a long period of time.

For the first time a Premier Firsts Team of the Year was selected with Essendon Maribyrnong Park leader Clea Smith named Captain of the team.

Brown Hill’s Bethany Taylor was the inaugural winner of the Most Consistent Premier Seconds Player, defeating Katrina Lumb from Brighton District by one vote.

The June Cole Award for the best first year Premier Firsts player went to Bundoora Old Paradians wicket keeper Lauren Griffiths while Mornington’s Kiah Laughlin-Glen took out the Frank McDonald Award for the most promising schoolgirl.

Melbourne University Cricket Club won their second consecutive Jill Crowther Award for the best administered club and were rewarded for the way they play the game, winning the Home Ground Advantage Spirit of Cricket Award.

A first for the VWCA saw prize money awarded to the Premiers and Runners Up of the Premier Firsts and Seconds Competitions as well as to the player of the year winners.

A full list of award winners can be found below:

U17 Junior Girls Competition

Brighton District

Emma Clarke (Brighton District)
Miriam Rowe (Kingston Heath)

Frank McDonald Award – Most Promising Schoolgirl

 Kiah Laughlin-Glen (Mornington)

U18 Most Valuable Players

Premier Firsts
Molly Strano (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)

Premier Seconds
Moelagi Tuilagi (Coburg)

One Day Shield
Hayley Neville (Bundoora Old Paradians)

One Day North West
Nicola Hancock (Altona North)

One Day South East
Kasey Fredericks (Knoxfield)

Batting Averages

Premier Firsts
Melanie Jones (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)

Premier Seconds
Leanne Leggieri (Brighton District)

One Day Shield
Kerry Johnson (Riverside)

One Day North West
Tanya de Jagar (Wyndhamvale)

One Day South East
Shannon Williams (Knoxfield)

Bowling Averages

Premier Firsts
Catherine Morrow (Brunswick Park)

Premier Seconds
Katrina Lumb (Brighton District)

One Day Shield
Kerry Johnson (Riverside)

One Day North West
Jenny Hetherington (Jacana)

One Day South East
Shannon Williams (Knoxfield)

Wicket Keeping Awards

Premier Firsts
Erica Kershaw (Dandenong)
16 dismissals

Premier Seconds
Leanne Leggieri (Brighton District)
9 dismissals

One Day Shield
Renee Thomas (Yarra Valley)
12 dismissals

One Day North West
Angela Wilkinson (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)
Carrie Brown (Edinburgh)
13 dismissals

One Day South East
Kasey Fredericks (Knoxfield)
15 dismissals

Olinda Nurseries Player of the Round Awards

Premier Firsts – Round 5
Emily McIntyre (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)
42 & 2/35

Premier Seconds – Rounds 3 & 17
Leanne Leggieri (Brighton District)
106 runs

One Day Shield – Round 9
Helen Harris (Altona North)
72 & 1/16

One Day North West – Rounds 12 & 14
Tanya de Jagar (Wyndhamvale)
164 no

One Day South East – Round 8
Shannon Williams (Knoxfield)
44 no & 4/16

Olinda Nurseries Wicket Keeper of the Round Awards

Premier Firsts – Round 1
Lauren Griffiths (Bundoora Old Paradians)
2 catches & 2 stumpings

Premier Seconds – Rounds 10 & 13
Leanne Leggieri (Brighton District)
1 catch & 2 stumpings

One Day Shield – Round 11
Donna Moore (Brighton District)
2 catches & 3 stumpings

One Day North West – Round 6 & 13
Jacinta de Niese
4 catches & 1 stumping

One Day South East – Round 14
Kasey Fredericks (Knoxfield)
1 catch & 1 stumping

Jill Crowther Award – Best Administered Club

 Melbourne University

Home Ground Advantage Spirit of Cricket Award

 Melbourne University

June Cole Award – Best First Year Premier Firsts Player

 Lauren Griffiths (Bundoora Old Paradians)

Grand Final Umpires

One Day South East
Henry Spiers & Terry Boucher

One Day North West
David Peers & Lauren Foo

One Day Shield – Bob Templeton Award

 John Bretag & Joe Briganti

Retiring Club Players

Jane Franklin (Dandenong)
Linda Machin (Monash Uni Gryphons)
Jodie Dean (Monash Uni Gryphons)
Brooke McFarlane (Box Hill)
Natalie Challis (Box Hill)


Jill Crowther (Match Results and Registration Secretary)
Joe Briganti (Umpires Advisor and Disciplinary Committee)
Russell Turner (Disciplinary Committee)
Alanna Duffy (Disciplinary Committee)
Katherine Broome (Pennant Secretary)
Pam Allen (A Spirited Journey Project)
Robyn Calder (Presentation Night)

Premier Firsts Team of the Year

1. Renee Melton (Brunswick Park)
2. Elyse Villani (Brunswick Park)
3. Melanie Jones (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)
4. Molly Strano (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)
5. Natalie Schilov (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)
6. Emma Inglis – Wicket keeper (Brunswick Park)
7. Clea Smith – Captain (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)
8. Bronwyn Evans (Dandenong)
9. Catherine Morrow (Brunswick Park)
10. Sharon Coldrey (Bundoora Old Paradians)
11. Kathleen Hempenstall (Brunswick Park)
12. Meghann Lanning (Box Hill)


Premier Firsts
Brunswick Park

Premier Firsts Twenty20 Cup
Essendon Maribyrnong Park

Premier Seconds
Brunswick Park & Brighton District

One Day Shield

One Day North West
Darebin Falcons

One Day South East
Kingston Heath

Most Consistent Premier Seconds Player

Bethany Taylor (Brown Hill)

Una Paisley Award – Most Consistent Premier Firsts Player

Catherine Morrow (Brunswick Park)

Una Paisley Voting - Top 20

Catherine Morrow Brunswick Park 23
Melanie Jones EMP 18
Renee Melton Brunswick Park 18
Molly Strano EMP 17
Meghann Lanning Box Hill 17
Lauren Griffiths BOP 17
Elyse Villani Brunswick Park 16
Sarah Edwards Dandenong 16
Rachael Haynes Box Hill 15
Amy Vines BOP 12
Jodie Dean MUG 11
Bronwyn Evans Dandenong 11
Jane Franklin Dandenong 11
Natalie Schilov EMP 10
Emma Inglis Brunswick Park 10
Brooke McFarlane Box Hill 10
Clea Smith EMP 9
Alissa Sharp BOP 9
Kristen Beams EMP 8
Kelly Applebee Dandenong 8

Most Consistent Premier Seconds Player - Top 20 

Bethany Taylor Brown Hill 25
Katrina Lumb Brighton Districts 24
Emma Scillini EMP 23
Moelagi Tuilagi Coburg 23
Leanne Leggieri Brighton Districts 20
Lauren Wood Brighton Districts 18
Renee Melton Brunswick Park 18
Merrin Pertzel Brighton Districts 17
Julie Calvert Brunswick Park 16
Angela Houghton Brunswick Park 14
Leah Caluzzi EMP 14
Michelle Winterton Box Hill 14
Erini Gianakopoulos EMP 11
Kate Dempsey Box Hill 11
Sasha Peers Brown Hill 10
Briony Polkinghorne Brown Hill 10
Cathy Cosma Brunswick Park 10
Pauline Barnett Coburg 10
Emma Kearney EMP 9
Lynette Connor Coburg 9